One Fish, Two Fish

I Heart My Heart February 7, 2008

Filed under: Doctor-rama,Second Trimester — leighnut @ 2:18 pm

I saw the Sherminator this morning [note: please see previous post] for a consultation. First of all, he was awesome. I loved him. He had a really dry sense of humor and made me laugh a lot. Second, my heart is totally fine. I have a benign murmur from birth which is being exacerbated by pregnancy. The doctor took a history and listened to my heart, where he heard the murmur, then decided to do an echocardiogram. The echo was normal and everything is fine. Dr. Sherman said that as long as it doesn’t get worse, I can just deal with it the way I have been (deep-breathing through the episode) and keep staying stress-free.

Speaking of which, he asked if there was anything in my personal or professional life that is causing me greater stress, “For example, where do you work?” I told him I worked at Children’s. His ears perked up, “Where? You know I work there too.” I told him where and he made a funny noise, saying, “Talk about stress at work. I think all nurses should be considered high-risk pregnancies. They are walking stress cases.” It was pretty funny. He will be the attending physician on the floor opposite mine next week, and suggested that I come over and visit him.

So, long story short (too late), I have a normal murmury heart that sometimes freaks out a little. It’s cool.

 

Leave a Reply

