One Fish, Two Fish

How to get lost in Pittsburgh March 19, 2008

Filed under: Baby,Third Trimester,Ultrasound — rpeavler @ 10:51 pm

Good Evening Everyone!  Here is the latest update.  Kristin had an appointment this morning where her blood pressure was high enough that the doctor sent her to the triage unit at the hospital in Pittsburgh.  She called me at work and I jumped in the car to zip in to Pittsburgh.  I decided to take the short back road way to get their as quickly as I could and with all the phone calling back and forth I got completely lost and ended up making a 1 hour trip into an almost 2 1/2 hour trip.  I ended up going through some very unsavory parts of Pittsburgh and all the way up the mountain on the far side of Pittsburgh before I could get turned around and onto a highway that led to the hospital. When I finally got there Kristin had just been told that she was being admitted for the night so they could keep watching her blood pressure.  As of tonight they are saying that she has preeclampsia.  That means that we’re looking at bed rest starting soon and that our due date has been pushed up to May 10 (from May 31).  After we got Kristin settled into her room for the night we ordered lunch and then were whisked off for an ultrasound.  Sunny passed with flying colors and is weighing in at a whopping 4.4 pounds.  That puts Sunny in the 86th percentile for weight for this point in a pregnancy.  We saw that Sunny has hair but really…..if we can see hair on Sunny, shouldn’t we have been able to see whether Sunny is a boy or girl?????????? I came home to let Maggie out tonight and make arrangements for her tomorrow and will head back in to the hospital first thing in the morning to meet with the doctors and we should have an update for everyone soon.  If everything stays as it was when I left tonight we’ll be home tomorrow afternoon/evening.  Please send your thoughts along for Kristin and Sunny right now! 

 

5 Responses to “How to get lost in Pittsburgh”

  1. sara Says:

    all our prayers and love coming your way….

  2. Amanda Says:

    Hey Kristin, I hope you are feeling better and get out of the hospital soon. I will be thinking about you and I hope that you and the baby are okay. Miss working with you…. ~Amanda~ : -)

  3. Caitlin Says:

    Hey! Just wanted to let you know that I am thinking about all three of you right now and praying that there were no significant changes over night and Kristin, that you and the Baby can return to the comfort of your own home today sometime! Please keep us updated! Love you.

  4. Paige Says:

    Hi guys. I hadn’t checked this for a few days cause I’m on vacation. I was shocked to hear it. Hopefully the results will allow for you to go back home. Kristin, I work in antepartum a lot and have collected my fair share of 24 hour urines. I have to say though, I have never been on the giving end 🙂
    Sending prayers and good thoughts to all of you!
    Love you all!

  5. leighnut Says:

    Hi everyone (Hi Amanda!),

    Thank you for all of your good thoughts and prayers. All is well. But, after one night in a hospital bed, I’m ready to go home to my cushy pillowtop mattress!!

    Dear Doctors, please bring me discharge orders. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

