One Fish, Two Fish

Stupid Schedule March 27, 2008

Filed under: Doctor-rama,Hospital Life,Pregnant!,Third Trimester — leighnut @ 11:51 am

Who ever thought that drawing someone’s blood at four in the morning was a good idea?!? Midnight seems much more reasonable. At least I could go to sleep afterwards and get a few hours in a row. Maybe they plan it this way to get you ready for a newborn in the house. 🙂

Obviously, I didn’t sleep well last night. Again. I finally fell asleep around 3:00 a.m., only to be woken up with the nurse saying in her outside voice that it was TIME TO DRAW MY BLOOD. Just in case I couldn’t hear her in a normal tone of voice, I guess. It only took one poke, which was a nice surprise, but I still was too awake to fall back to sleep immediately. Then not long after that started the parade of residents and doctors and more blood pressure checks. I slept between interruptions until 11:30 this morning. I am such a slug. If this keeps up, I’m going to be up all night and sleep all day! 🙂

Nursing students came in again today. They were all excited to hear my heart murmur. Oooh! Adventitious heart sounds! I let them all listen one by one. Each one had a “stethoscope face” that came out when listening intently. It was really funny. Kind of like my “piano-playing face.”

Breakfast was at noon today. Lunch will be around five, probably, which means that dinner will be the very European hour of 10 pm. Stupid schedule. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Stupid Schedule”

  1. Britta Bergman Says:

    Drawing blood at ANY time of day or night is never a good idea! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well and enjoying lots of arts and crafts time! Love you.

  2. Sandy Says:

    Hi there! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog!

    You know, I read a study not long ago that talked about sleep in hospitals and found that the patients who were woken up often in the ICU in the night fared worse than patients who were left alone to sleep. They study questioned if the endless sleep interruptions were in fact more harmful than beneficial.

    You can always try to talk to your doctor and see if they can cut you some slack at least for a few hours at night anyway…I am sure they already have you hooked up to so many monitors as it is…but then again I didn’t have pre-eclampsia when I was in the hospital with my son.

    Either way, hang in there! It will be over soon!

  3. leighnut Says:

    Britta,

    I hung up that picture of a camel that you sent me. Almost every staff person that has come in my room the last few days has commented on how funny it is. Thanks for sending it!

    Love you!
    Kristin


Leave a Reply

