One Fish, Two Fish

Drop It Like It’s Hot May 2, 2008

Filed under: Baby,Doctor-rama,Neurotic,Pregnant!,Third Trimester,Ultrasound — leighnut @ 4:12 pm

So, apparently the baby has dropped. Yesterday, I started feeling more crampy (like period cramps) and sore occasionally. And then, all of a sudden, yesterday afternoon I couldn’t walk around without feeling a fiery ache in my area. These are symptoms of “baby drop.” Now, I can walk around with less pain, but lifting my legs to go up the stairs makes me want to punch something. My hope (though I’ve been told not to get them too high) is that the pain will lessen a little as my body figures out what to do with this new information.

We went to the doctor again today and found out that I am 80% effaced and a fingertip dilated. This is great news! The plan is to go in next Sunday night, May 11, between 9:00 p.m. and midnight to be induced. BUT (there is always a but) it could just be that I go into labor on my own and go in earlier than that. That would be awesome! It would be so wonderful to have a little normalcy at the end of this very crazy pregnancy. (I am secretly hoping that I go earlier, because my favorite doctor is on call that whole weekend.) Oh, the ultrasound and labs were normal, as usual. See? it comes out as an afterthought now.

The car is packed, so we’re logistically ready for whatever, whenever. We stopped at Babies R Us and picked up the glider and a couple more things, everything is washed and ready to go, and we’re in full waiting mode. Oh, and if I don’t get my butt in gear, that angel is never going to get done and eighteen years from now I will pull it out of the bag, on the eve of my child’s move to college, and wonder where the time went. We don’t want that, now do we?

 

2 Responses to “Drop It Like It’s Hot”

  1. erinfrances Says:

    I was wondering what that would feel like — thanks.

    And a week! I’d call you lucky but after this eventful pregnancy, you’ve got to be more than ready. HOW STINKIN’ EXCITING! 🙂

  2. leighnut Says:

    My mom said when her babies dropped, it felt like a wobbly feeling in her thighs. For me, it’s burny and achey. You’ll have to describe what it feels like for you when it happens! 🙂

    And I am so excited and ready. It’s going to be great!


Leave a Reply

