One Fish, Two Fish

Returning To An Important Subject June 16, 2008

Filed under: Hospital Life,Mom and Dad,Neurotic — leighnut @ 6:58 pm

Let’s talk about food. For those of you who have known me for about fifteen years, you know I have had an up and down relationship with meat. I went “vegetarian” for a while (which included a McDonald’s hamburger once in a while. I was hard core.), then my hair started falling out so I added chicken and turkey back into the diet, then came the red meat. I plateaued there for a while in a No Pork Zone, but in the last few years have added bacon back into my repertoire of meats. At Easter dinner, I would have a couple of bites of ham to try it once a year and see if my taste for pork had returned. Why am I rambling on about meat? Because, while I was pregnant, I couldn’t have deli meat (deli meat can harbor the bacteria listeria that can cause miscarriage) and all I wanted was a ham sandwich. Ham. HAM.

So, about two months before Sam was going to make an appearance, I started telling Rob that I wanted my first postpartum meal to be a ham sandwich with tomato, lettuce, and Hellman’s mayo from Jimmy John’s sandwich shop. (Fortunately for Rob, there is a Jimmy John’s within walking distance of the hospital.) I reminded him at least weekly, lest he forget. I’m sure it was annoying.

After Sam was born, I wasn’t allowed to eat solid foods until the magnesium infusion was complete. That was supposed to be at 2:39 a.m. Jimmy John’s isn’t open 24 hours. When the day shift nurses left, I asked my night nurse to clarify my diet order. She came back and said that I was allowed to eat anything I want, even though the mag wasn’t finished. Rob got right on the phone and ordered the sandwich fifteen minutes before the store was going to close. The guy was waiting at the door to hand Rob the sandwich and lock the door behind him. Here is the result, that I can’t believe I am posting on the internets for everyone to see:

 

5 Responses to “Returning To An Important Subject”

  1. Christine Says:

    YUM. I would give anything for a ham sandwich. Or a caesar salad.

  2. Nancy Says:

    Kristin, you’re adorable.
    Love you

  3. Stacey Says:

    I second that, Nancy. Kristin, I love this picture. You had me laughing out loud at my desk. It’s not exactly what I had in mind when I said that I wanted to see some pictures of you on the blog, but still, a wonderful photo! It reminds me of all our Subway runs at GAC. Can’t wait to see you in July!

  4. G/G Peavler Says:

    We so enjoy your pictures and your sharings. Thanks, Kristin!

  5. erinfrances Says:

    That’s a funny photo! 🙂

    (I was the same way with hot dogs — though I didn’t get mine in the hospital.)


Leave a Reply

