One Fish, Two Fish

Stranger Danger August 5, 2008

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Month Three,Neurotic — leighnut @ 10:36 pm

What is it with babies and strangers? Maybe it’s a Pennsylvania thing, but people seem to think that carrying around a baby is an invitation to strike up a conversation.

“Is he sleeping well? My kids never slept well. Let me tell you all about the woes that were my nights.” (I’m sorry you had a hard time, strange woman. Please spare me the details.)

“Oooohhh how cuuuuuute! Look at it in the little carrier!” (It? He’s obviously a boy!)

“Is he sleeping through the night? You should put some cereal in his bottle. That will help.” (Hello. No. And he doesn’t drink from a bottle. Thanks for the advice.)

“Oh I remember those days. Cherish this time. It will go so fast. My kids are 14 and 11 and I feel like it was just yesterday that they were that small. Are you having another one? You shouldn’t wait too long so they can play together.” (Yes, time goes fast. Yes, we’ll have another. Thanks for your thoughts about our procreation time frame. We’ll think of you when it’s time.)

Do you think I’ll be like that in 15 years? If I start, please slap me on the forehead and remind me of this post. Thank you in advance.

 

3 Responses to “Stranger Danger”

  1. erinfrances Says:

    This is why I don’t bring my colicky baby out in public. Everyone swarms over to see a.) if I’m beating her, and b.) if I’ve tried (something that worked on their baby). It gets oooooold.

  2. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I have this problem all the time, yet I have no child with me. Random people at Target tell me their life stories. The older woman at the grocery store that I get a can of green beans off the top shelf for proceeds to tell me about her son who never calls (I apologize for the poor grammar in that sentence). Honestly, I’m already a magnet for people, their life stories, their overwhelming advice (“oh, honey, I hope you’re buying some sunscreen with that fair complexion of yours;” “in fact, that’s what’s in my hand. I’m practically albino. Do you think I’d set foot outside without a minimum of SPF 1 billion?”). I can’t even imagine what it’ll be like when I have a child with me. Seriously, though, who doesn’t love strangers’ great advice? I think you should heed all of it and see what happens. So glad to see you blogging again!! Sam gets more adorable every day. We’ll have to work out a time to meet up (i.e. me crashing at your home for a day) when I’m in the easterly direction visiting my parents.

  3. leighnut Says:

    Oh definitely! I would LOVE to see you again!

    I know what you mean. I think we’ve talked about this, but I sometimes feel like I have a sign on my head that says, “Tell Me Everything.” I’m happy to be an ear for people, especially people I know and care about, but sometimes you just want an anonymous trip to Target. 🙂

    If your eyes turn pink, let me know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

