One Fish, Two Fish

Surprise, Surprise, I’m A Little Anxious August 25, 2008

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Month Three,Neurotic,Sam,Work Schmork — leighnut @ 11:26 pm

Tomorrow I go into the hospital for the first time since March when I was put on bed rest. I’m only going in for a staff meeting and to meet with the woman I am replacing on an interim basis.

[Have I talked about my job change? I don’t think so. I am going to be the interim nurse educator for my floor at Children’s. There’s a long story as to how I came to have this opportunity… long story short, I am taking over some responsibilities for the regular educator while she takes on more hospital-wide tasks. I will be going in four hours a week and doing everything else from home.]

I can’t tell you how nervous I am about going in. Not only have I not seen everyone in months, but I don’t know any of the patients, and I am out of the loop on a lot of the new stuff going on. Not to mention the fact that it will be the longest time away from Sam since his birth. I can’t pump enough to feed him anymore, which is a bummer, so Rob will have to give him formula if I’m not back in time. I don’t worry at all about Rob’s ability to care for Sam. I mean, he couldn’t be a better dad. Seriously, he’s amazing with him. But I know that my mind will be at home, hoping everything is ok, that Sam will take the formula, etc.

So I have mixed feelings about tomorrow. I am so grateful for this new position, because if I’m having this much trouble leaving for a few hours, imagine what a basket case I would be if I were gone for 14-15 hours! I’m sure it will be fine… right?

 

One Response to “Surprise, Surprise, I’m A Little Anxious”

  1. erinfrances Says:

    I hope everything went well for you. My first day back was the worst … but at the same time, I gradually got used to the breather. It makes me more happy to be at home with Alice after a day at work.

    (And four hours, and the rest from home — lucky!) 🙂


Leave a Reply

