One Fish, Two Fish

Flip September 3, 2008

Filed under: Goofball,Mom and Dad,Month Three,Mushy,Neurotic,Sam — leighnut @ 9:20 pm

Every time I go into the nursery to get Sam from his crib, he is on his stomach looking up at me with a grin. His new favorite trick is to roll onto his stomach. This, of course, provides me with loads of anxiety that he is going to suffocate because he could face plant into the mattress and not wake up to lift his head. I know, I need to take a breath and get over it.

Tonight he rolled from his tummy to his back. He hasn’t done that since July 28, when he proved he could do it. Rob and I were so excited we Wooooo’d really loud and I started clapping. Sam got scared from all the sudden commotion and started crying. He’ll probably never flip again for fear that we’re going to freak out again.

Too bad for him… we love him too much to not freak out. Sorry, Sam.

 

3 Responses to “Flip”

  1. G/G Peavler Says:

    You go, Sam…..never mind the cheers of the crowds. A man’s got to do what a man’s got to do….

    We love you, big strong Sam!

  2. erinfrances Says:

    I heard that once they can roll over from their backs to their bellies, it means they have the neck control and the reflex to not suffocate themselves, to move. So, if a non-nurse’s repeating something that might be hearsay makes you feel better … There you go. šŸ™‚

    And he only rolled over once from belly to back til now? I should stop cheering Alice on to do it a second time, then.

  3. leighnut Says:

    Your hearsay means a lot, Erin. Thank you! I have a hard enough time with him sleeping in his own room, let alone having to add the worry that he’s going to die. šŸ™‚

    Yeah, he’s only done it twice now. It’s like he’s saying, “Look, big people, I don’t need to keep doing thing. You’ve seen me do it. You can report it to the pediatrician on the 19th. Get over it.”


Leave a Reply

