One Fish, Two Fish

Hobbit Feet September 6, 2008

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Neurotic,Product Placement — leighnut @ 11:36 pm

Occasionally here at Sam I Am, I casually review random products. These things have usually touched my life in a significant manner. Like the time when I couldn’t get enough of Caldrea cleaning products and had to shout it to the world, or when I went on and on about Izze carbonated fruit drinks when I was pregnant and got sick of drinking water. Well, it is now time to talk about my feet.

I love my feet. I think they’re cute. They are my dad’s feet. (One Christmas, I was sitting on the couch next to my dad, looking at our feet that were lounging side by side up on the coffee table. They are identical, except mine are girl-sized and his are boy-sized. It’s true.) But my feet are dry and calloused and have cracked heels. Eww, right? I could soak them in a vat of lotion and it wouldn’t make one bit of difference. I used to have those gel socks that you wear overnight over lotioned feet to soften them while you sleep. Yeah, right. Didn’t work. (Could it have been that my feet are 1000 degrees and I kicked them off while I slept? Maybe…)

Enter the Ped Egg. OhmigodIlovethisproduct. It’s a little ergonomically shaped cheese grater for your calloused dead-skin hobbit feet. Buy one at your local drug store. (Except Rite Aid. I went to two of them and neither had it — only the refills.) I Ped-Egged my feet this evening and you wouldn’t believe the gross shavings that I collected! (Ok, I didn’t really collect them, they collected themselves in the handy! dandy! Ped Egg cover!) It was disgusting. But now I am walking around actually feeling the carpet beneath my newly grated heels. It’s incredible. I never knew carpet could feel so lovely. And we don’t have the world’s plushest carpet, let me tell you.

So, the moral of the story is: if you, too, have hobbit feet, get a Ped Egg today and feel your carpet for the very first time.

 

7 Responses to “Hobbit Feet”

  1. Bubble Says:

    I have it too and IT IS amazing! I love it! Seriously, one use and i was hooked!

  2. Becky Lindell Says:

    Kristin,

    I just LOVE you and reading your posts. I usually have to read a few at a time because I get busy at work. But, they always make me smile, even if I am having a bad day!! I, too, have the Ped Egg. I took it to the lake this summer and only remembered to use to once (my granddaughter, Kelsey, had it most of the time). But it does work and I have to find it tonight and give it another try!! It is almost time for my yearly “the lake season is over and my feet are disgusting pedicure”. Using the Ped Egg should prolong it’s effects!!

    Keep writing…

    Love,

    Becky (Stacey’s Mom) xo to Sam

  3. Stacey Says:

    Mom, I didn’t know you had a Ped Egg! I have seen it on TV and I almost bought it at Walgreens last week, but didn’t. Thanks to both of your testimonials, I fully intend to make a trip to my corner drugstore today. I’ve always had soft feet, but lately, not so much. It must happen when you turn 30. Kristin, I’m not sure what your excuse is since you’re still a young 29. πŸ™‚

  4. leighnut Says:

    “Sam I Am,” bringing families’ feet together since January 2008. πŸ™‚

    Becky, thanks for the compliment. I love writing this blog. It’s the most consistent journal-type writing I’ve ever done. It makes it easy when you love the subject matter… πŸ™‚

    Stacey, we both know that I lost in the good-skin department. It should come as no surprise that I have never had smooth feet. πŸ™‚ And given that my big 3-0 is coming up in 36 days, I barely have any 29 left in me! But really, you have to stop today and get a Ped Egg. It’s amazing.

  5. Stephanie Young Says:

    I just ordered mine! Can’t wait to get it and try it out so I too can feel my carpet for the first time! Thanks Kristin!

  6. Susie Says:

    Kristin you are too funny. You have such a way with words and I really think you should write some kind of book. For the record, The petersons all love the pedegg! Susie

  7. leighnut Says:

    Thanks, Susie! I don’t know about writing a book. When I took a creative writing class at Gustavus, my professor, upon looking at my short story portfolio, said, “Well, Kristin, I think you should focus on poetry for the rest of the semester.” Read: you couldn’t write a short story if your life depended on it.

    Maybe I’ll write a memoir when I’m 80…


Leave a Reply

