One Fish, Two Fish

Growing Like A Weed September 20, 2008

Filed under: Doctor-rama,Mom and Dad,Month Four,Photo,Sam — leighnut @ 10:16 am

Sam had his four-month well-baby visit with the pediatrician yesterday. He weighed in at 16 lbs., 7 oz. and measured a (false) 25.5 inches. His leg was bent when the nurse measured him. Dr. Lane, Rob, and I all think he is more like 26.5 inches. He remains in the 75th percentile for both height and weight. Dr. Lane didn’t have much to say. She commented on how cute he is (I’m sure she says that to all the babies), checked his head control (great), did the hip check (passed), made sure his area looked fine (it does, though he has a little bit of diaper rash right now, stemming from his wakeful forays into the 4 a.m. hour this week), asked if he was babbling (yes, though you wouldn’t know it from how quiet he was during the appointment!), and asked if we had started solids (we have not).

She recommended that we start Sam on solid food before his six-month check-up. He’ll start with rice cereal once a day, then upgrade to twice a day a few days later. Then we’ll add vegetables (eww) and fruits (yum!) later on. I can hardly wait to start the solid foods. I want to get the video camera out and record his first taste, see if he likes it, get that surprised facial expression. I’m more excited about it than Sam is, though that’s not saying much, considering his complete lack of knowledge that it’s coming.

Dr. Lane says he’s doing great. We’re not surprised by the verdict.

 

4 Responses to “Growing Like A Weed”

  1. erinfrances Says:

    I had a coupon for Gerber infant spoons that expired Oct. 1 or something, and I was so excited about Alice getting to eat rice cereal in a few weeks that I HAD to buy them. TODAY.

    Can’t wait to see Sam’s reaction to the first bite! 🙂

  2. G/G Peavler Says:

    Sam- what a great big boy you are becoming! It’s so good to see your happy pictures. I’m thinking that you are looking quite a bit like your Mom!

    Love you, G/G P.

  3. leighnut Says:

    Really? You think he looks like me? Hmmm…

    There are times that I think that he looks like Rob’s twin. And then there are moments that I think I see myself. I think he must still be a good mix, then. 🙂

  4. The other half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    He definitely looks like a tiny, male Kristin. I’m not entirely sure I’ve ever met Rob or even seen much of his face in a picture for that matter, but I still see a Kristin-Boy every time I see a picture of Sam. I hope “Kristin-Boy” doesn’t stick as a nickname. It could be rather traumatizing come preschool.


Leave a Reply

