One Fish, Two Fish

Babies Are Babe Magnets October 29, 2008

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Month Five,Sam — leighnut @ 4:55 pm

If I had left my wedding ring at home, I think I could have gotten a lot of phone numbers at the airport during my travels. That little baby is a total babe magnet! (Just kidding. Love you Rob!) Actually, that’s not true at all. He is a stranger magnet. I can’t even begin to tell you how many strangers came up to me to talk to, stare at, or touch Sam. I was wearing him in the Bjorn, carrying lots of stuff and therefore totally defenseless against the dirty hands coming at the baby. 🙂

The whole travel process to and from Appleton went very smoothly. Sam did really well. I was only irritated once. On the 20-minute flight from Milwaukee to Appleton, the man who sat in front of me remarked to his seat mate, “Oh great, this is going to be a long flight,” motioning with his head to Sam and me getting situated in the seat behind him. I wanted to smack him on the back of his fat, bald head to thank him not only for his rudeness, but for not using his inside voice. Everyone knows it can be annoying to travel near babies and small children, but it’s more stressful for the parent(s) of those children. To Captain Rude Man’s credit, as soon as we landed, he turned to me and said, “What a good baby.” Damn straight! Sam slept the whole time. I thanked him and he commented on how cute he is. I wanted to throw a blanket over his face and say, “You don’t DESERVE to see his cute little mug, you bad bad man!” But what good would that do at 11:00 at night in a small space? Nothing, I tell you, nothing.

 

One Response to “Babies Are Babe Magnets”

  1. erin Says:

    People say the stupidest things.

    I’m glad it went OK for you! It gives me hope. 🙂


Leave a Reply

