One Fish, Two Fish

Sam and Sophie November 3, 2008

Filed under: Goofball,Month Five,Photo,Random Acts of Kindness,Sam — leighnut @ 6:34 pm

Sam is very pleased with his new cousin. He told me that he thinks she’ll be really fun to play with someday, though he thinks she’s entirely too sleepy and, well, too baby to play with now.

I, on the other hand, can’t believe how teeny she looks, and was surprised at how much I missed the newborn days. (Let’s be clear, though, this is not an endorsement of more children right now. I remain perfectly content with one.) Sophie is absolutely beautiful, with a head full of dark hair, and a mug that looks very reminiscent of her daddy when he was a newborn. She has her mommy’s nose and hands and has the sweetest cry. I am so grateful to have been able to be with them during their first couple of weeks with the baby. Thank you, Hoffman Three, for having us and sharing your time.

I know what you’re thinking: blah blah blah, where are the pictures?? Hold your horses, take a deep breath, and read on…

Sophie has a question.

Sophie’s many admirers:

Am I boring you?

Hey! Sophie! Wake up! Let’s play!

Sophie, I’m telling you this as a cousin and a friend. You probably shouldn’t shimmy until you’re six weeks old. I’m just sayin’…

Sam: Almost there, aaaaaalllllmost theeeeeerrrrre.
Sophie: Pickmeuppickmeuppickmeuppickmeuppickmeuppickmeup.

 

2 Responses to “Sam and Sophie”

  1. erinfrances Says:

    She looks incredibly small — I can’t believe how old Sam looks! (And, by extension, how big Alice seems looking at a “new” baby.)

    What cuties.

  2. leighnut Says:

    I know. Our children are giants.


Leave a Reply

