One Fish, Two Fish

Finally! The Appleton Christmas post. January 7, 2009

I think this is officially the longest stretch of time without a new post. What a bad, bad blogger I am! It seems that the more active Sam gets, the less time I can sit and write without finding Sam with something not approved for baby play. Like little bits of plastic wrap or a mouthful of cardboard. More on that later…

Christmas was so wonderful. We were able to be with both sides of the family for a long time. I am so grateful that Rob is a teacher and I am flexible with work so that we can enjoy these long breaks with family and friends. It’s lovely.

We spent Christmas proper in Appleton this year. Sam was so excited to have a new house to explore and a dog to stare at (i.e. Meg. We did not get a Christmas puppy). He thought it was awesome that ? and ? Hoffman also had a big green toy in the living room decked with lights and ornaments for him to play with. I’m sure he wonders why it can’t always be that way. And this tree had presents under it, which was even better, because who doesn’t like a little wrapping paper snack between meals? We designated one of Sam’s presents as a do-what-you-will present, so he could eat it, throw it around, etc. He managed to completely unwrap it by Christmas eve. I wish I had a dollar for every piece of paper I’ve finger-swept out of Sam’s oral cavity this winter. I’d retire to an island.

Speaking of finger-sweeping, when we were in Traverse City (yes, I know I’m going out of order), I found a piece of mushy paper in Sam’s crib when I picked him up from a nap. I thought, “Huh, that’s weird. Where did this come from?” When I got to the bottom of the stairs, Sam was making these funny mouth movements (not uncommon during these my-gums-feel-funny-because-I’m-teething times). I swept his mouth with my finger and found a piece of saliva-soaked cardboard about the size of a silver dollar. Perfect choking size. I had to shake off the creepy feeling that he could have choked in his sleep and I would have never known. It is still a mystery where he got it, because we’ve all watched him like hawks. Big featherless ones who take all the fun out of exploring by removing dangerous objects from reach. We’re such bad grown-ups.

OK, back to Appleton. Christmas Eve was fun. Sam and Sophie were in matching Christmas outfits. Here they are doing their best impression of American Gothic, minus the hoe and pitchfork:

img_1590

And here they are moments before. Sam is being too friendly. (That’s Drew’s hand, saving the day.)

img_1596

Sorry, Sophie.

We had family and friends over for dinner and went to the late service at church. Sam was not into the sitting-still-in-church thing. He wanted to eat the offering envelopes and grab the fuzzy hood of the girl’s jacket sitting in front of him. He talked a lot and generally preferred the singing of hymns to the sermonizing. (Sounds a lot like me until I was in, oh, my early 20’s.) In fact, I missed the sermon altogether, because Sam and I were in the usher’s room having a little mealtime bonding. When we got home from church, Rob read Sam The Night Before Christmas. And then we opened Christmas jammies and went to bed.

We did Christmas morning old school this year, and got up at 6:30. That’s a.m. Morning. Pre-sun. It was great. I have an internal Christmas clock that wakes me up anyway, so I was ready to go. Sam missed most of Christmas morning festivities, because he slept until 9:00. We saved a few presents for him to open when he woke up. He’s very into the ripping of the paper. Why in the world we actually got anything for him is a mystery. We could have just wrapped up an empty box with paper in it. It would have been the Best. Christmas. Ever! 🙂 Here’s Sam with his giraffe teething toy, plus the 2008 Christmas jammies for Mommy and Sam.

img_1599

After breakfast, we all got ready and went to Tom and Kim’s for Christmas afternoon. When we walked into the house, Sam thought he had died and gone to heaven. There was so much to look at! Ceiling fans and log beams! Deer heads (deer busts? What do you call them?) and a huuuuuge Christmas tree! He just stared and stared up at the ceiling and the walls. Most importantly, Rob and I were introduced to Wii bowling. Turns out I have a pretty mean left hook. Not good for Wii bowling.

Sam reached more milestones in the midwest. He pulled himself up to his knees in the crib on December 21. Here’s the photographic evidence to prove it.

img_1576

We put his crib mattress to the lowest position when we got home. Mr. Monkey’s parents are all about safety.

It was so great to be there for a week, hanging out and having Christmas and just being together. It makes us more and more anxious to live closer to our families so we can have more times like these. Not just at Christmas or other occasions, but because it’s a Tuesday or it’s raining.

 

3 Responses to “Finally! The Appleton Christmas post.”

  1. Britta Bergman Says:

    Oh thank you thank you for the new posts and pictures! 🙂

  2. leighnut Says:

    You’re welcome. I’m sorry it took so long! I’m such a slacker.

  3. abigail Says:

    it was great to see all three of you in A-town. I hope you have recovered and are ready to fully baby-proof your house, because I think it’s time!


Leave a Reply

