One Fish, Two Fish

Who Me? January 14, 2009

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Month Eight,Neurotic,Sam — leighnut @ 7:03 pm

Sam doesn’t know his own name. And it’s totally our fault. How is a kid supposed to learn his name when we call him 800 different things? Both Rob and I are trying really hard to skip the cute nicknames and use Sam all the time. It’s harder than we thought.

So here’s to month eight: the month of learning one’s name. Sam. Sam. Sam. Samsamsamsamsamsamsamsam.

 

4 Responses to “Who Me?”

  1. The other half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    My family has always called me Lucy or Henrietta (I much prefer Lucy over Henrietta or Megan). However, I was able to learn my given name, despite it NEVER being used at home by anyone. I promise, I never had an identity crisis, nor did I not respond when called upon at school, so I assure you that Sam will also be okay, even if he’s not entirely sure of his name at the moment.

  2. leighnut Says:

    That’s really good to hear. I thought for sure he was going to be the goofy kid in his kindergarten class that would only respond to Peanut or Mr. Man.

    And you are definitely not a Henrietta, though I might be tempted to call you Hennie or something now. 🙂 just kidding!

  3. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    What’s even sadder is that my mom called my oldest brother Henrietta for a long time. It still occasionally slips out. Luckily, people in our family are not easily mortified!

  4. leighnut Says:

    It sounds like our families would get along swimmingly. I bet you all like to hang out together, too, just because it’s a Tuesday or something. Hooray for fun families!


Leave a Reply

