One Fish, Two Fish

Looking for Spring January 27, 2009

Filed under: Month Eight,Photo,Sam — leighnut @ 1:11 am

img_1667

 

12 Responses to “Looking for Spring”

  1. Erin W Says:

    Sam, let us know when you see it coming. You’re on the East coast and therefore will be able to give us all in the midwest a fair warning to put our boots away. 🙂

  2. leighnut Says:

    Sam promises to keep you informed of the first signs of melting and leaf buds. Since he doesn’t have boots, he’ll have to take your word for it that those are associated with winter. 🙂

  3. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    Your poor child doesn’t have boots?! My third grade teacher would make him write an essay on why he doesn’t have boots. How does he play in the snow?

  4. leighnut Says:

    Why I Don’t Have Boots
    by Sam Peavler

    I don’t have boots because I got rooked when they were handing out mothers. She says if I can’t walk, then I don’t get to have boots. She also maintains that sitting in snow is not fun. It is cold and wet. I will get boots next winter when I can walk. Plus, until last week, there was snow in which to play. That’s why I don’t have boots.

  5. The other half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    Nice writing, Sam! You definitely inherited your mother’s love of words.

    My essay in third grade went something like this:
    “I don’t have my boots for recess because my mom said I didn’t need my boots today. My mom is always right, so I did not bring my boots. It wasn’t snowing this morning, and it still isn’t, so I don’t need my boots. My mom says I only need my boots when there is snow. There is no snow, so I don’t need boots.” I rambled like that for an entire page. Ms. Hinsch was NOT impressed.

  6. leighnut Says:

    I was chastised in third grade for starting almost every sentence with ‘then.’ Then I went outside. Then I saw a squirrel. Then the squirrel ran away. Then I cried. At the time, I didn’t see her point. How was I supposed to link the sentences that were flying through my head? Now I totally get it Thank the Lord — or Mrs. Swift.

  7. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I was told by my psych clinical instructor that I suffered from flight of ideas…but that she always made the connections between my flying ideas, so she didn’t think I needed a psychiatric evaluation. She was a little flighty herself.

  8. Nancy Says:

    I now understand that your brains do connect somehow! I’d really like to meet the other half of Kristin’s brain.

  9. leighnut Says:

    Megan, did you read that? That means next time I’m home, we have to get together with my mom! 🙂

    (Mom, it is creepy sometimes how similar we are. You should read our “25 things about me” notes on Facebook. Veeerrrry similar!)

  10. Brooke Says:

    Next time you’re home, we definitely HAVE to get together. I can’t wait! And I’d love to meet your mom. I bet our moms are very similar also!

    The 25 things was creepy. I worked really hard to come up with 25 different things than what you put, and I was still amazed at how many were similar.

  11. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    Oopsie! I’m at work and commented under Brooke!!

  12. leighnut Says:

    I thought so… but I approved the comment anyway, knowing in my heart it was you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

