One Fish, Two Fish

Need February 2, 2009

Filed under: Goofball,Mom and Dad,Month Eight,Neurotic,Photo,Sam — leighnut @ 2:17 pm

I need three exersaucers. One for the living room when I’m trying to eat a meal, one for outside the bathroom, so I can pee without wondering if Sam is in mortal peril, and one for outside the bathroom upstairs, so I can shower without waiting for him to go down for a nap.

Sam finds all the danger in a room. We put up a baby gate so he wouldn’t climb the stairs. He found the one step that couldn’t be guarded by the gate. Now, his favorite activity is climbing up the one stair and rattling the gate. Yesterday, he decided all the cool kids rattle it with one hand and wave with the other. It makes my heart stop to watch him waving unsteadily from just above the hard tile floor, one sock slip away from a subdural hematoma. He also like to pull himself up on the media console — using the shelf that pulls out on wheels. That could come out and fall on him. He likes to stick his finger between door and door jamb to play with the hinges. Next time you see him, he may be missing a few finger tips a la Chubs from Happy Gilmore.

So the moral of the story is… I’m pretty sure there’s a better way to run my days while keeping Sam out of danger, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

img_1701

 

10 Responses to “Need”

  1. G/G Peavler Says:

    Oh, Sam, you are something! We are so impressed with your accomplishments!

    Oh, Kristin, I remember this time so well….it will be better, maybe in 20 or 30 years. Just kidding…I always thought that 8 or 9 months until about 18 months were among the most challenging. Hang in there, Mom….you’re doing an awesome job!

  2. The other half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I’ll come be your nanny. Problem solved.

  3. leighnut Says:

    That’s perfect, Megan. I can’t pay you a salary, but you will have free room and board. Your room would be large with very limited closet space. Oh, and there’s a Wii to play with. Come over anytime. πŸ™‚

  4. Becky Smith Says:

    Kristin,

    I LOVE your writing style! You make baby stories new all over again with your witty wisdom.

    Thanks for sharing your blog with Sarah’s site.

    Becky
    caringbridge.org/nc/sraahsmith

  5. Bethany Says:

    Kristen,

    Sam is the cutest guy ever! I ate a honey crisp apple like a month ago and it made me think of you! Hope all is well.

    Bethany 8N

  6. Jan Reuther Says:

    I just stopped in because Becky Smith sent me….but I’ll be back! I loved reading about your little one.

  7. Mamasita Says:

    Found you through Sarah Smith’s spot.

    Your little Sam reminds me of my youngest daughter. The one who broke her arm playing in the hallway at church when she was two, and went through a cast per week. The one who broke her nose in 2nd grade by falling in the yard and then having a tree fall across her face after she landed. A tree covered with poison ivy. The same daughter who was wiggling around in her toddler bed and slipped out the bottom. All except for her head, it did not fit through the little opening – I found her hanging out the bottom of the bed by her head – she had walked her feet up her dresser to keep from strangling. The same daughter whose legs were covered in purple bruises and scraped knees until she was in elementary school. The same daughter whom I have a picture of with her head coming out of the top of the tree in our front yard. The top of the tree was even with the windows on the second floor of the house. She came home from her first week of kindergarten with a black eye one day and the much skin on the left side of her face missing on another day. She was jumping off of the toilet lid one day and slipped and went head first into the trash can. It left a beautiful red ring around her neck.

    Yeah, it was neverending excitement.

    But hey, you will never be bored! I say it is a preventative for Alzheimers – it forces the synapsis to stay active when you have kids like this. πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

    Come visit me at my blog sometime.

  8. karen Says:

    Hey Kristin and Rob
    It is really a good thing Sam is so dang cute. You are not going to stop now for the next 20 years. But believe me, it is worth every minute.

  9. leighnut Says:

    Hi Bethany! I think of you when I eat honey crisps, too! I was so adamant that you try a slice that day!! It’s amazing that I didn’t slice my thumb off trying to cut that apple with a plastic knife. πŸ™‚ Good to hear from you!

  10. leighnut Says:

    Hi Karen! I know… (watch out, I might gush a little) he’s so cute!! There are days that I just want to squish him all day, because he’s being especially adorable. It’s so fun.


Leave a Reply

