One Fish, Two Fish

A Short Anxiety Post September 13, 2010

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Neurotic,Sam,Second Trimester — leighnut @ 6:29 pm

I have images in my head. Of me wearing the baby while Sam and I walk to the library for story time. Of me carrying the Moses basket full of sleeping baby outside so I can park her under the tree to push Sam on the swing. Bundling a Big and a Little so we can go outside and play in the snow. Of matching knitted hats, made with love by a Mom of Two.

It’s been a slow process for me to find these images. I’ve wondered, “How can I ever love another child as much as I love Sam?” Everyone says that the heart just grows when a new child is born, and I know that will happen to me. But I look at my baby boy and I think of our days together, just the two of us, and can’t help but wonder how this new baby will affect Sam. How will I help him share his days with a new baby sister?

I am confident that everything will fall into place with time. Sam will learn a new routine that includes Baby; we will have time to play and draw and sing and read books and do puzzles; he will help take care of Baby with me. And everything will be fine. I hope.

 

One Response to “A Short Anxiety Post”

  1. Debbie Says:

    I went through that exact same anxiety when I was pregnant with Britta. It would almost make me cry. Just wait until the first day of kindergarten! i can say for certain that everything will be fine and you do have enough love for everyone.

    Love you,
    Debbie


Leave a Reply

