One Fish, Two Fish

Week 23 October 26, 2010

Filed under: Pregnant!,Second Trimester — leighnut @ 12:34 pm

This week Baby is the size of a mango — a large mango. She is about a foot long and weighs a little over a pound. She hears loud sounds outside of my body. Sam often yells into Baby’s microphone (a.k.a. my bellybutton) to tell her things. He always says, “Baby! It’s Sam!” We talk about how when he talks to Baby, she will know his voice when she comes out. I think he thinks that’s neat, but it’s hard to tell most days. Not surprisingly, Sam also has his baby sister in his tummy, too. We marvel every day that we are “twinnies!” and “samesies!” that we both have Baby Sister in our tummies.

I feel her moving on a pretty regular schedule. Late morning, around 10:30-11:00, she’s busy. Then around 4:00 in the afternoon, she starts up again. And usually between 9:30 and 10:30 at night, she’s dancing around. Speaking of dancing, she is now aware of rhythmic movements that my body does. Poor kids… both Sam and Baby are at such a rhythmic disadvantage having been, or being, carried in my body. I have a little more than zero natural rhythm. They are destined for the edges of dance floors for the rest of their lives. Oh well. Not everyone can be the theatrical triple threat. 🙂

I have another doctor’s appointment tomorrow. As 27 weeks approaches, I get more and more nervous that things are going to go haywire. That was when everything started to go downhill the first time. It’s like a milestone week that I want to get through without incident. Time will tell, and I remain optimistic that things will stay nice and boring.

 

Leave a Reply

