One Fish, Two Fish

Week 25 November 9, 2010

Filed under: Pregnant!,Second Trimester — leighnut @ 9:44 am

This week Baby is approximately 13.5 inches long and weighs about a pound and a half, the weight of a rutabaga. (Rob loves rutabagas. He’d never had them before he started coming to Thanksgiving with the clan and now loads up his plate every year! Yum!) She’s starting to add some baby fat to that little body of hers, smoothing out her wrinkly, been-in-the-tub-too-long skin. Apparently, if we could take a peek, we’d see what color and texture her hair is, too.

This is the coasting part of the pregnancy. Not much happens in these mid-twenties weeks. No more morning sickness, no more major fatigue, things are generally good. Makes for boring blog posts, but my everyday life is grateful for the normalcy.

I have another doctor’s appointment on Friday. I’ll also have my glucose tolerance test to see if I have gestational diabetes. The test is part of normal prenatal check-ups, and happens between 24 and 28 weeks. I have to drink what tastes like concentrated flat 7-Up, then have my blood drawn exactly one hour after. If my blood sugar is less than about 130-135, then I am in the clear. (At least those were the levels in Pittsburgh. I assume Michigan has similar parameters!) If not, then I repeat the test in depth (more blood work over longer periods of time) to determine if it’s truly gestational diabetes or not. Fun times, huh?

I’m looking forward to week 30, now that I’m 25 weeks and rounding up. It will feel more like the end is in sight and we can meet this little one and start learning about life as a family of four.

 

3 Responses to “Week 25”

  1. Britta Says:

    I can’t wait to meet the little Rutabaga! (And for Thanksgiving…)
    I just had to call Rob and tell him that you referred to our family as “The Clan” in one of your blog posts. He was very proud 🙂

  2. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I’ve never eaten a rutabaga. I don’t think I’ve ever even seen one, so that obscure reference doesn’t really help me in terms of how big Penelope is at this point. However, lucky me!, I’ve seen 25-weekers before, so the first time I see a rutabaga, I can say, “that’s the size of a 25-week baby” and everyone will be astonished by my knowledge. I’m glad she’s not so wrinkly anymore – raisin babies kind of creep me out.

  3. leighnut Says:

    Britta, I thought of Rob when I wrote ‘the clan.’ He was definitely the influence! 🙂

    Megan, I think you should run to your local produce section right now and make that announcement. On video, please, so I can see the reactions of those around you. 🙂 Also, I’m glad she’s no longer Red Jello Baby. That’s the hardest for me to see.


Leave a Reply

