One Fish, Two Fish

Whew! November 18, 2010

Filed under: Pregnant!,Second Trimester — leighnut @ 8:51 am

I passed my glucose tolerance test! Thank goodness. It’s one more thing to check off the list as we march toward delivery.

But my hemoglobin is low. (Hemoglobin carries iron in your blood.) My level is 10.4 and the normal range is 12-15. It’s not much of a surprise, given my strong aversion to meat during this pregnancy. So, since I won’t be gulping down steak (unless of course it’s cooked hibachi-style!), there will be lots of spinach and beans in my very near future (like at lunch today). Tomato sandwiches with spinach instead of lettuce. Cheese and spinach sandwiches. Baked beans. Dried apricots. Not all at the same time, mind you. 🙂

I’ll be thinking high-iron thoughts as I try to eat turkey on Thanksgiving, too. Yes, my meat aversion even applies to my favorite meal of the year. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Whew!”

  1. RoseT Says:

    i was anemic at 26 weeks too (very typical for twins). i had to take two iron pills a day + prenatal vitamin. I also ate malt o meal (chocolate, maple and plain) and grape nuts – excellent sources of vegetarian iron:)

  2. leighnut Says:

    Ooh, Grape Nuts! That’s a good one to add. You know how I love cereal. 🙂

    I’ve been eating Cream of Wheat in the mornings lately. We can’t get chocolate Malt-O-Meal here for some reason. Only Coco Wheats, which are an inferior product. 🙂 So far, I don’t feel symptomatic, so that’s good.


Leave a Reply

