One Fish, Two Fish

The Great Pestilence of November November 22, 2010

Filed under: Mom and Dad,Sam — leighnut @ 11:41 am

First, we survived. You should know that. Sam started throwing up on Friday, I started on Saturday, and Rob spaced it out to Sunday night. Needless to say, we had a wonderful weekend.

I spent all of Saturday in bed, sleeping, puking, and sleeping some more. Rob coaxed me out of bed at 6:30 p.m. with, “Honey, why don’t you come downstairs for a change of scenery? Oh, and “Elf” is going to be on. We can all watch that.” So I came down. Reluctantly. Last night, Sam’s stomach rebelled and tossed up all the food he ate that day. Both Rob and I marveled at how quickly you can push down your own sick feelings to help your sick child. Sam and I slept in the guest room last night so Rob, the freshest sickie, could have some space to do his thing. We were eating bunny crackers at 4:00 this morning. Sam was trying to convince me to read books. I was trying to convince him that wasn’t a good idea. I won. We finally went to sleep, curled up together, a small hand on my cheek, and slept until 10:00 this morning.

All in all, an amazing weekend. And not that good kind of amazing. The I-can’t-believe-we-survived kind. 🙂

 

One Response to “The Great Pestilence of November”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Nothing can cause more panic than when one of your kids start to puke. We actually put plastic over Britta’s bedroom rug when she got the flu at around 10 months. She had her whole room to crawl around in and we didn’t have to clean puke out of the rug! I’m glad your feeling better and we’ll see you in a few days.


Leave a Reply

