One Fish, Two Fish

Week 30 December 14, 2010

Filed under: Pregnant!,Third Trimester — leighnut @ 2:16 pm

Isn’t thirty a nice round number? It makes week 40 seem not so far away. Remind me that I said that in a couple of weeks when the rush of Christmas has passed and I am staring down forty-some cold days of gigantic belly. πŸ™‚

Speaking of a gigantic belly, it seems that strangers now have the right to comment on my burgeoning girth. We went to church on Sunday and some old woman came up to me and said, “I saw you sitting in church this morning. You must be having a Christmas baby!” I said, “No, I’m due in February.” She expressed awe, staring at my belly, and replied,” Oh wow. I thought for sure you were due any day, since you’re so HUGE.” Thank you, old church lady, can I please go to the bathroom now? It’s ok. I get it that a pregnant belly is some sort of invitation to talk about every pregnancy and birth experience you’ve ever had or heard about. I’m just glad that people aren’t reaching out to touch me all the time. I’ve never had that happen, actually — even when I worked in a hospital last time, where boundaries are generally nonexistent.

So, what’s happening with Baby Girl this week? Well, she’s getting fatter. Her skin is turning from red to pink as she puts on more weight. The average 30-weeker is 15.7 inches long and almost 3 pounds. (But as we know, this baby is probably 30 inches long and 6.5 pounds, given how big my belly is, right strangers?) She’s also continuing to develop her eyesight. You could shine a flashlight against my belly and she would be able to detect the changing light. She’d better do what she can for vision right now, because she’s destined for glasses at some point. Rob and I weren’t gifted with pilot-worthy vision — we make friends with the optometrist wherever we live. It’s only a matter of time for Sam and Baby. πŸ™‚

Every morning I wake up and think, “Today is another day that I am walking around.” I’ve never known what it feels like to spend week 30 on my feet. I’m grateful for every day I spend on my feet, even when my back is sore and I’d rather be lounging on the couch. I’m ready for whatever comes, whether it’s smooth sailing till the end or modified activity or bed rest. A healthy and happy baby is the reward for whatever my body needs me to do!

 

2 Responses to “Week 30”

  1. Drew Says:

    If you start having 30 inch babies that weigh large amounts, it may be better to rid of the vegetable analogies and start comparing her to types of fish. Really, you’ve got a large range from a small shad or fingerling trout to the extreme case of the elusive 30 inch walleye. Then we can comparatively get excited about a lunker. YOU GOTTA 30 INCHER!!!

  2. leighnut Says:

    Drew, i think you should start your own baby website that compares all fetuses to fish. It would be a huge hit! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

