One Fish, Two Fish

Appointment Fun! January 3, 2011

Filed under: Doctor-rama,Pregnant!,Third Trimester,Ultrasound — leighnut @ 2:39 pm

I had another doctor’s appointment today and all is well. The big news, and by big I mean gigantic, is that Baby Girl measured 6 lbs. 9 oz. For those of you keeping track, that’s enormous. But we learned that Baby has lots of hair and big, chubby cheeks. She should, considering she weighs about two pounds more than the average 33-week baby! That news, and some extra fluid around the baby, has bought me another glucose tolerance test, which I’m just thrilled about. Not really. I’m going to do it tomorrow and get it over with. This big baby explains why my body hates life right about now. I’ve definitely reached Beached Whale status and my body feels every pound. You should see me try to roll over at night — not pretty. 🙂

The baby is still breech, though she has changed from frank breech (folded in half, with feet up by the head) to footling breech (feet down, dancing on my bladder). This is good news, because we’re scheduling an external cephalic version for three and a half weeks from now. This is a fun little procedure, done at the hospital, where they try to manually turn the baby from the outside. I don’t know all of the details, but the general explanation from Dr. Bryant was, “We lift the baby and try to make her do a somersault.” OK. It’s not comfortable, but I’ll do just about anything to avoid having a C-section.

And my blood pressure was 144/64. This is ok, because the diastolic number (bottom number) is not high. That one needs to stay below 90. Isn’t it funny how my blood pressure has become the last thing I talk about? I’m so glad my heart and kidneys are behaving themselves. 🙂

I have another appointment in a week. I have a feeling that my appointments will be weekly now. That’s ok. As long as we have fruit snacks for Sam, we can do as many appointments as they want. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

