One Fish, Two Fish

What Shall We Name Her? January 4, 2011

Filed under: Baby — leighnut @ 12:20 pm

Look to the right. On the sidebar is a little quiz. There is no wrong answer and no extra credit will be given for participation. Just choose the name you like best for Baby Girl. Your answers will in no way influence our decision, because we won’t know her name until we see her little squinchy face. She’ll be the one to sway the decision. But, while we wait, let’s have a little fun!

 

17 Responses to “What Shall We Name Her?”

  1. Drew Says:

    How do you say Elin? Is it like Ellen or like tiger wood’s wife “ee-lin”

  2. Drew Says:

    How do you pronounce Elin? Is it like Ellen or like Tiger Wood’s wife “ee-lin”?

  3. Drew Says:

    Sorry I didn’t mean to leave the same response twice. I thought the first one failed. My bad.

  4. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    Drew beat me to my question. If it’s pronounced Ellen, you know how I feel about odd spellings (but you can name her whatever you want). If he’s ee-lin or ay-lin, I would worry about mispronunciations for the rest of her life (but you can name her whatever you want). Would Katherine become Kate or Katie or Kat, or just always remain Katherine? Would it bother you when you got matching monogrammed items from L.L. Bean (which I am sure is a high priority on your list) that you and your daughter would have the same initials, or would that be a plus because even the monogram would match? I seriously need these questions addressed before I can make a final answer. Also, you seem to have left Megan off the list – I’m confused…

  5. leighnut Says:

    Drew, it’s the Swedish spelling of ‘Ellen.” I knew a Swedish girl in college whose name was Elin (AY-lin) and I’ve always loved the name. Rob prefers the regular way to say it, so we’ve compromised. She would also be called Ellie.

    Megan, the poll is irrelevant, because we’re really just going to name her after you. 🙂 The spelling Elin is a nod to my Swedish heritage. Katherine would be Katherine or Kate. And we’d have different LL Bean monograms, because I am KLHP (though I wouldn’t care if we matched). 🙂

  6. MegB Says:

    I, too, think Megan should be on the list. And I voted for Katherine, because it’s our little Lily’s middle name. She’s often Lily Kate… as my sister Sarah was often Sarah Kate. I’ve seen an awful lot of Annas lately… (Not that I can talk, Lily was #7 last year.) She may have something completely different up her sleeve once she arrives! 🙂

  7. Stacey Says:

    I voted. 🙂

  8. Kathryn Says:

    I voted for Katherine but would HIGHLY recommend spelling it KATHRYN! LOL I have received many, many comments and compliments on the spelling my parents/Mom? chose. It’s interesting b/c my Mom’s middle name is the same tho’ spelled CATHERINE. I wonder why she chose the different spelling for me. Maybe she didn’t like it or just really like the other spelling. Who knows. BTW, we had Kate on our ‘list’ for girls names when I was pregnant w/Brianna.

  9. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I am satisfied with the responses, and I will accept your logic behind the pronunciation/spelling of Elin (though I was really hoping you were going to tell me that you’d be saying it Ay-lin – I think that’s so pretty, and it’s what came to mind when I saw it). Touche on the KLHP vs. KLP initials – do you think she’ll be jealous that you have something to break up the Peavler-ness and she won’t? 🙂 I will now vote. I am a true American, so I know that my vote does, in fact, matter.

  10. leighnut Says:

    I love Ay-lin, too, Megan, but not all parties agree. 🙂 I am happy to compromise on this point. 🙂

    Thank you for your vote, you true blue American, you. 🙂

  11. Drew Says:

    I still think Roxy should at least be available to be voted on by the public. That’s what makes this country great… everyone has a voice. I can’t wait to meet my favorite youngest niece, Roxy Roslynne Peavler.

  12. leighnut Says:

    Drew, it does have a certain ring to it, huh? I don’t know what kind of ring, but a ring nonetheless. 🙂 Maybe I should add it to the poll. 🙂

  13. G/G Peavler Says:

    It’s fun to be included in the chat….but there is no way we are voting! We’ll love her, whatever her name, looks, quirks, talents, voice…we’ll love her just as she is, whatever her name!

  14. Drew Says:

    Even if her name is roxy roslynne peavler?

  15. Debbie Says:

    I’m voting for Elin, pronounced Ay-lynn, but I’m just the favorite great aunt. Who am I to say. In all honesty, I love all of the names!


Leave a Reply

