One Fish, Two Fish

BG QID January 10, 2011

Filed under: Doctor-rama,Mom and Dad,Pregnant!,Third Trimester — leighnut @ 10:23 pm

Well, it’s official. I do have gestational diabetes. I have to say, I really thought I was going to skate through this pregnancy without any complications this time. But. But. I am not on bed rest. So, while this glitch is a bummer, there is a lot to be thankful for:

1. No bed rest.
2. I am six weeks away from my due date.
3. Everyone should eat like a diabetic anyway. So I consider this a head start to making changes in the way our family eats.
4. I am six weeks away from my due date. Wait. Did I mention that already? 🙂

We meet with the dietitian on Thursday afternoon. I have very little information at this point, but I do know that, at least for the first week, I will be checking my blood sugar four times a day. Thank goodness I let all those pediatric patients poke my fingers for all those years, so I’m used to it! There’s a reason for everything, isn’t there? 🙂

 

6 Responses to “BG QID”

  1. RoseT Says:

    KLHP – I like that you can be so positive! Between you and me, we have had most common pregnancy issues – bed rest, pre-clam, twins!, pre-term labor, sciatica, and the list goes on… It would be a cool Venn Diagram with bed rest in the middle:)
    I’m interested to see what the diabetic diet looks like. I hope you post on that. Good luck, you are doing so good!

  2. leighnut Says:

    Thanks RMT. I think the Venn diagram should be drawn. Next time we get together, I’ll bring the markers. 🙂

    I know that once I get the blood sugar under control, I’ll feel better, too. I should have added that to the list. When I get the diet information, I’ll post it or send it to you if it’s super-boring non-blog material. 🙂

  3. Drew Says:

    Of course the chemistry professor suggests the venn diagram. 😉

  4. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    I spent half of last semester managing diabetics, gestational and otherwise. Fun stuff! And by fun, I mean it reiterated the fact that I really do not care for diabetes. I’m guessing they’ll have you do carb counting and probably some insulin (with a pen, which is like the easiest thing ever – just click and poke!). Good thing Penelope is already forcing you to do those frequent small meals. I’ll be thinking happy, un-sweet thoughts for you!

    • leighnut Says:

      Yeah, in the very limited conversation I had with the nurse on Monday, she said the plan would be to check my BG four times a day, follow the diet, and see if dietary changes alone will be enough. If not, oral meds or insulin will be next.

      I really liked diabetic teaching. Maybe this is karma. 🙂


Leave a Reply

