One Fish, Two Fish

Week 36 January 25, 2011

Filed under: Pregnant!,Sam,Third Trimester — leighnut @ 12:27 pm

Well, we’re getting down to the wire here, aren’t we? Baby girl could really come at any time. (Rob has predicted that she will come a week from tomorrow. That would be kind of nice, huh? I get to de-pregnify myself and you get pictures!)

Week 36 babies are about the size of a Crenshaw melon. What in the world is a Crenshaw melon? The picture shows an oblong yellow melon. I have never heard of it before. Thank you, Babycenter, for providing produce to which we can all relate. 🙂 This means the baby (or, rather, the average baby) is a little over six pounds and about 18.5 inches long. We’ll find out on Friday how much our little pumpkin weighs. I will have another ultrasound to see if (a) she’s still breech and (b) how much she weighs. Sometimes I think she’s turned, because most of the movement is now in my upper right quadrant, but there are also some big movements in my lower left quadrant — sometimes at the same time! I cannot figure out what is what in there.

I still feel good. I’m definitely more tired and I feel sort of withdrawn from the world. It’s a weird feeling. It’s like I’m in my own little world. I don’t really want to go anywhere (though I make myself get out of the house with Sam). I just want to be at home. The days are moving very slowly.

Yesterday morning, Sam wanted to get the Pack and Play out of the box and set it up. So we got it out, put it all together, and looked it over. Then Sam started crying and said, “Put it back in the box, Mommy!” I think it’s starting to feel real to him, too.

So. Everything is washed and organized. The hospital bag is mostly packed. We have diapers and new bamboo receiving blankets (super soft!). Friday’s appointment should give us a better idea of when this little one is going to show up. I like the idea of sooner rather than later, but I will take what I can get. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Week 36”

  1. The Other Half of Kristin's Brain Says:

    Obviously, little Penelope has some extra appendages. I can’t wait to see her on the circus tour – Meet the Octopus Girl! Just think, you could travel the world on her merits. They did it all the time in the 1800’s. I’m sure it’s totally ethical and everything. I can’t wait to see her and count her plethora of toenails. 🙂

  2. Rebecca Lindell Says:

    Little “pumpkin” is much easier to relate to than Crenshaw melon! Thanks for that and may everything go fast and EASY!!

    Becky


Leave a Reply

