One Fish, Two Fish

LDR 5 February 16, 2011

Filed under: Hospital Life,Mom and Dad,Pregnant!,Sam,Third Trimester — leighnut @ 10:05 pm

We’re all settled in Room 5 on the Labor and Delivery floor. The resident is from Duluth! We talked Minnesota for a while, realized we both love to knit and like to wear Smartwool socks. We’re nearly twins. 🙂 She broke my bag of water and will be back in a while to reassess. They started Pitocin 30 minutes ago, so now we’re hanging out watching American Idol. Rob’s being a really good sport about it.

It was hard for me to leave Sam. Not so much that he was staying home, but that when we come home, everything in his little life will be different. I know that having a sister is going to be good for him, but his whole life is changing from this moment. And the special one-on-one time that we’ve had together is over. It’s going to be fine. I know that. It’s just a strange thought.

Big news: I passed the blood sugar test and do not need an insulin drip during delivery. They checked me when I first came in, then again in an hour. I needed my blood sugar to be below 111 — and it was 97! So no glucose intolerance for me, and therefore no insulin. This makes me happy.

When Baby Girl is born, they will check her glucose one hour after delivery to see if she needs help regulating her blood sugar. The goal is to get her to eat ASAP after delivery to prevent a short trip to the NICU for extra glucose help.

Obviously, I’m not very uncomfortable yet. Sentences are coming clearly and I’m able to multitask, watching Idol and writing here. It seems we have a while to go. 🙂 I’ve had my ginger ale, so we’re going to try to get some sleep now.

 

4 Responses to “LDR 5”

  1. Britta Says:

    Thinking about all of you and anxiously awaiting to hear about your new little girl!! I hope you’re all able to get some sleep. Can’t wait to see pictures – love you lots 🙂

  2. G/G Peavler Says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you, and will be throughout this night. Think slippery slope….

  3. Mom Says:

    Special prayers will be said for you tonight! Just checked on Sam and he is still blissfully asleep. I love you.

    • leighnut Says:

      Thanks for the prayers and thoughts everyone. Kristin just had an epidural and is resting. She’s at a 5 and things are moving along nicely. We’ll have pictures to share in the morning!


Leave a Reply

